Transitioning to Doctoral Work

books

As we know through our lived experiences and through our trusty higher ed and student affairs scholarship, transitions (both anticipated and non-anticipated) can be stressful.  The end of the academic year is a common time to reflect on transitions as students graduate and move on to new jobs, graduate school, or some other new adventure.  Recently, I have been thinking about two kinds of transition related to doctoral education: transition out of a doctoral program into a new faculty role and transition into a doctoral program as either a full-time or part-time student.  This blog post is dedicated to the latter.

As a faculty member, one of my favorite roles is working with doctoral students to help them create their own unique experience as a scholar in higher education and student affairs.  While I have been doing this for years, first as a doctoral student myself, then as a faculty member in higher education graduate programs, recently this role has become more formal as an advisor or “major professor” to students starting from the beginning of their doctoral journeys.  A question I am frequently asked is, “what should I be doing to prepare myself for transition to graduate school?”  My first response is, “do exactly what you’re doing….ask a LOT of people that question!”  As with anything, I think that gathering as many varied perspectives as you can and learning a bit from each of those is of vital importance.  And, my contributions to that conversation include the following:

  1. Read.  And Read some more.  And some more.  Read for fun.  Read for work. Read things that challenge you.  Read things that you agree with and things you disagree with.  See what you might learn.  As my advisor always told us, “Read fiction. Especially if you want to do qualitative research.  Reading fiction makes you a better writer, especially when it comes to telling someone’s story.”  So, Read.  “Ok, so what should I read?”  You’re the only one who can really answer that question, but here are some of my favorites:
  1. And write.  Anything.  Journal.  Blog.  Write reflection papers.  Write down your reactions to an article after you read it.  Write it in an email to a friend or just keep it for yourself.  Get in the habit of translating what is going on in your brain to a piece of paper. Cultivate your inner voice.  Figure out ways to share those thoughts with people around you.  Your contributions matter simply because they are yours and they have been lived.  Connect experiences in your work and personal life to things you are reading.  What are the connections between what you read and your experiences? What are the differences? What do you think this means? Remember, doctoral work is about contributing to knowledge, so start thinking of yourself as a contributor, not just a consumer of information.
  1. Also, get on social media.  Follow some blogs of other higher education scholars whose research interests you share.  I love the Commission for Social Justice Educators’ blog and Dafina Lazarus Stewart’s blog.  There are also some great blogs about doctoral education.  One of my favorites by a PhD student in a higher education/student affairs doc program is Diaries of DAR.  Inside Higher Education also features a blog called GradHacker and you can follow them on Twitter.  Do that.  Follow scholars on Twitter.   Pay attention to hashtags of interest to you.  For example, I follow #sachat, and you might be interested in #SAGrad or #PhDChat.  Pinterest has a plethora of resources for higher education scholars and practitioners.  I use Pinterest to collect resources for class and have had several students use it to collect resources as well.  I also use Storify to collect news articles that I might want to use in different classes.
  1. Figure out some potential research interests.  You don’t need to commit to anything now, but start exploring.  What questions do you have? What other scholars are thinking about things that you’re interested in exploring? Read up on this stuff.  And write down your thoughts as they come to you.  Remember, you are a contributor to AND consumer of knowledge
  1. Read Inside HigherEd and The Chronicle of Higher Education daily.  Both have free daily digests.  Sign up for them.  Read the headlines, and read the articles of stories that are of interest to you.
  1. Explore digital resources for graduate school.Evernote has become popular with many PhD students.  I use it for my research projects – it has become the equivalent of a researcher journal for me.  I collect articles that are relevant to various research projects on which I’m working, along with my commentary.  I also frequently jot notes to myself in Evernote – research things I’m thinking about, questions I have for faculty meetings, etc.  It syncs with all of my devices, so I can add a note whenever I’m thinking of it.  I also really like iAnnotate, which is a PDF annotator.  I can take notes on and highlight PDF documents without having them all printed out.  Some doc students really like using Kindle or another eBook reader for their books; others much prefer the print versions. Some (like me) do a combo of both, depending on the purpose/use of the book. I am missing a lot here.  There are so many options.  Explore.  Ask questions.

Those are my thoughts.  Yours? What would you add?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Great piece Dr. Linder. I am looking forward to starting my process. I also look forward to starting my blog about my experience. Only piece I see to be helpful I plan to share is to get the University Graduate student checklist complete (email, parking, FASFA) and place to live. I know it seems mundane that you have to explain this to individuals who should already know this put for the procrastinators of the world a good reminder is always helpful.

    Like

    1. proflinder says:

      Thanks, Justin. This is a great idea…these kinds of transition things are so important!

      Like

  2. andreamdeleon says:

    Hi Chris! I wanted to let you know that I so very much appreciated this post. I don’t know that you and I have ever “officially” met, but I was a senior at Ohio State while you were teaching in the HESA program. I just finished my first year of grad school in the Higher Ed program at Loyola University Chicago. Amy Barnes and I had a phone conversation earlier this week as she wanted to provide a space for me to externally process my first year of grad school (and she’s one of my closest mentors.) We discussed plans for next year and the job search, and other options post grad school. I mentioned that I was considering going straight into a doctoral program, but that I had a lot of fear and self-doubt about my ability to succeed. Later that evening, she emailed me a link to this blog post. How fitting! I really appreciate you taking the time to write about this. I am really hoping to use my summer to read, write, and talk to others about my options for the “next step.” Thank you, so much!

    Like

  3. proflinder says:

    Hi Andrea,

    Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you found it helpful. Best of luck to you as you think about your next steps….there are so many options!!!

    Like

Leave a comment